Refresh and Recharge

Back in civilization! I had a wonderful Labor Day weekend camping trip with my girls.  I always like to take these little breaks from school to do something new or go somewhere fun.  We have so few chances to get out into the world, with all of the hectic business that life throws at us–so why would I want to spend the weekend on the couch watching Netflix?  (Though, I have to admit, some of tomorrow might be spent lounging on the balcony with iced coffee and a good book…if I can get my homework done. Fingers crossed.)

Me and three of my best friends traveled to Witchita Mountains National Wildlife Refuge, a gorgeous state park that plays home to herds of wild bison, elk, and Texas longhorns. Did you know that at one point longhorns almost died out? I sure didn’t.

We spent the weekend figuring out how to set up a tent and cook over a fire and charcoal grill. I have to say, I make a pretty good grilling chef.  Did not burn or undercook any of our chicken/hot dog/corn on the cob combinations. However, a few of my marshmallows did lose the good fight to the campfire in my battle for the perfect s’more.

This is what happens when you lose your marshmallow…

We went for an incredible hike to the highest point in the park.  At a balmy 102 degrees, it was a bit of a struggle, but I could not have been more happy that I made it all the way to the top.  Sometimes you just take a moment and remember how absolutely beautiful the world is. 

It’s a little hard to tell…but that is me conquering a mountain.

We also had a very entertaining and educational trip to the visitor’s center at the park, where I got friendly with the buffalo. He loves me, if you can’t tell from the picture.

We swam in a lake, played card games, frolicked to and from the bathroom and shower compound, laughed a lot, and worked on our Shakespeare sonnets for class on Tuesday. Hey, you can take the BFA’s out of school, but apparently can’t take the Bard out of the BFA’s…

Lovely friends at Cracker Barrel. Coffee has never, ever tasted so good.

This weekend was exactly what I needed. It has been a very intense, sometimes fun, and sometimes frustrating couple of weeks.  A weekend away to enjoy the beauty of the natural world and the comfort and love of my friends? Priceless. Hope you’re all having a lovely Labor Day weekend!

Leave a Reply

