Taking the Plunge: Dyeing Adventures

I have what I would like to call “virgin hair.” But that isn’t neccesarily true. I am lying about the promiscuity of my locks if I don’t admit that I’ve philandered with a highlight or two.  However, I have never jumped in the deep end of the pool and actually dyed my hair.

All that is about to change.

In three-ish hours, I’m going to walk out of the salon about three shades darker and a few tones redder. Or at least, that’s the hope.  Does anyone else get nervous when they go to get their hair done? Usually, I’m chill as a cucumber: trim the ends, layer it, and let my curls have their way. Yes, you may diffuse it (hair dressers always jump for joy when I say this. I don’t think they get a lot of natural curls up in there. Personally, I think diffusing my hair makes me look like an extra in The Lion King, but I am all about the easy route). At the most, I’ve requested some blonde highlights to brighten me up a bit. But after two years of highlighting, the only way to brighten is full on blonde…and I’m ready for a changed. So off I go into this brave new world! I have visions of Zooey Deschanel-ish locks cascading gaminely down my shoulders, falling silkily over my oversized sweater while I sip my latte.

winter style oh imagine walking around France in this

Hoping for this (via Pinterest)

basically my summer

Not this…which is basically my life in the summer. But with crazy brunette curls and not as much adorableness.  (via Pinterest)

Leave a Reply

