reposer.

I have been missing in action for quite some time, but I promise I have a good excuse. Remember that elusive The Boyfriend (aka Navy Boy) who popped up in my posts occasionally?  Well, he is at just The Boyfriend now, a Navy Boy no longer. I got to welcome him home after four years of active duty, and I’ve been spending my week making up for lost time…four months is a very long time to go without seeing your best friend.

Not to get all sappy, but this guy is the cheese to my macaroni. The marshmallows to my cocoa. And he loves my food metaphors.

With all of the joy of his coming home came the realization that my summer is also coming to an end.  I’ll be headed back to school next Friday! Cue all kinds of crazy emotional feelings.  A lot of me is very happy to think about having my own space, resuming a routine, and getting back into the world of learning what I love. And a little bit of me is screaming, “No, no, don’t make me go!” while clinging to a pile of sun bathing towels and frozen yogurt cups and flip flops.

I have had some amazing adventures in the past week that make it a little easier to let go. Chris and I went up to Door County, which is one of the most beautiful places in the world to visit. I already can’t wait to go back. We spent the weekend…

Running and hiking in beautiful Peninsula State Park. Crazy hard hikes, but completely worth it.

Eating at amazing restaurants…like Wilson’s, home of ice cream cones as big as your head.

Going to a fishboil! That flaming column of death is actually a kettle full of whitefish, potatoes, and onions.  They add two cups of kerosene to the fire at the last minute so all the icky oils boil right off the top…and you get a crazy fireball. Who doesn’t love  a fire ball? My favorite part of the night was, of course, the cherry pie.

This is making a return appearance at some point when I try to decode the magic of that sugar crust.

Just enjoying our time together: reading, trying to finish Firefly, running long runs, making The Boyfriend go into fifteen different versions of the same gift shop, watching Despicable Me 2…

We just love being together. I think that’s all you need for a beautiful relationship. Hope summer is treating you just as well.

 

Leave a Reply

