The Easiest Summer Dessert in the World, or, Blueberry Raspberry Crisp

Tonight I cooked up a storm. Maybe it was the combination of being out of the kitchen for the weekend while eating delicious food. Or maybe I just was really craving some baking time.  Either way, tonight found me in front of the stove.  I made some stuffed peppers for dinner. Have you ever had the experience of wanting a dish to be amazing, and just getting “eh”? It’s a little sobering.  So I’m happy that dessert turned out perfectly!

We had a ton of leftover blueberries that my mom and I don’t particularly like to eat plain, so I decided to make something with them.  At the last second, I threw in the rest of our raspberries, because they were starting to get gooey level ripe and I didn’t have enough fruit.  Basically, this whole crisp was an improvisation, and it turned out amazing–so I encourage you to play!  (Note: I modified this recipe from a post on The Kitchn, an amazing recipe resource.  If you haven’t checked it out yet, run, don’t walk!).

 

The Fruit:
2 cups blueberries
2 cups raspberries (feel free to play and add other fruits, or switch up the ratio!)
1/8 c sugar (might want more, to taste. Our raspberries were very sweet)
2 tsps lemon juice (also to taste!  I love me some lemon)
2 tablespoons cornstarch, depending on juiciness of fruit (Our raspberries were super juicy!) 

For the Crisp:
 1/2 c  all-purpose flour
1/2 c non-quick oats
1/4 cup (4 ounces) brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking powder 
1/4 heaping teaspoon cinnamon, more to taste
 A pinch of salt 
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened

I used an 8″ round pie dish and this spread very thinly on the bottom. Be sure to use a glass or ceramic dish!

Heat oven to 375°F.

1. The Fruit: Toss the fruit with sugar, lemon juice, and the cornstarch. Pour into the dish.

2. The Crisp: Whisk together the flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt. Break the butter into a few large pieces and toss these in the dry ingredients. Using your whisk, crush the butter into the dry ingredients as you would with a pastry cutter.  I also used a knife to even it out.  You want a crumbly topping. Pour the crisp topping evenly over the fruit, spreading it out gently with a spatula.

3. Bake the crisp for 30-35 minutes, till the top is golden brown and the fruit is bubbling. Your kitchen will be smelling like heaven by now!  Let sit for a few minutes before serving so you don’t burn your tongue. Not speaking from experience, or anything.

Best paired with: a glass of milk, or, if we’re feeling adventurous, a scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt.

I hope you all enjoy this easy summer dessert!  I know I’ll be making it again soon.

 

Leave a Reply

