Homemade Blueberry Lemon Breakfast Bread

You are all either going to love me or hate me after this post. Love me, because this is one of the most delicious breakfasts I’ve ever made. Hate me, because you won’t be able to stop yourself from eating more. 

While I let this cool, I went for a three and a half mile run, just in anticipation.

So, in honor of a rough Monday after a glorious Fourth of July weekend, I offer you my take on Good Life Eat’s Lemon Blueberry Drizzle Bread.

I didn’t take any pictures because I was too busy anticipating. And sipping coffee, because it was seven a.m. But this is a fancy version from her original recipe!

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour + 1 tablespoon
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon lemon zest
3 large eggs
1/2 cup 1% milk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup fresh blueberries

For the Syrup: 4 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice 3 1/2 tablespoons granulated sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 C) and place the rack in the middle of the oven. Butter and flour a 9×5-inch loaf pan–I used pam and flour and it worked out fine. I also used a thick earthenware pan, and my bread was totally done after 50 minutes. 

In a small bowl, whisk together 1 1/2 cups of flour, the baking powder and the salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together the sugar, butter and lemon zest until light-colored, about 3 minutes. Add the eggs, one by one, beating until well mixed before adding the next. Add the milk and vanilla and beat until well blended. Add the dry ingredients and mix just until incorporated.

In a small bowl, gently toss the blueberries with 1 tablespoon of flour. Carefully fold the blueberries into the batter.

Scrape the batter into the prepared loaf pan and bake in preheated oven until a toothpick inserted near the center of the bread comes out clean, about 50-60 minutes. Check with a toothpick to make sure! Remove from oven and set on a rack to cool for 5 minutes. Turn the bread out onto the cooling rack.

Meanwhile, make the lemon syrup: in a small saucepan, bring the lemon juice and sugar to a boil. Cook until the sugar has completely dissolved and the syrup has thickened slightly, about 2 minutes.

Note: Don’t spill the simple syrup all over your hand, like I did. Have you ever had that moment when you spill something in the kitchen, and just kind of stand there thinking, “Wow, I wonder how hot this is? Is it hot? Is this emergency room level?” before the pain kicks in? It was not a new experience for me, unfortunately. Plus side: the syrup was just on the hot side of warm, enough to give an owie but not send me packing to urgent care.  Non plus side: I had to make more syrup while I scrubbed our hardwood floors on my hands and knees to divest them of all stickiness. Sigh.

While the bread is still warm, jab it all over with s skewer. Brush with the lemon syrup. Let the bread cool completely, about 2-3 hours.

Now, that is what the original recipe asks you to do. You could be horrifically impatient, like my family, and let it cool for thirty minutes tops before digging in.  And that would still be okay, because it will be delicious.  Mark my words.

Store bread in the refrigerator.

If you look at the original recipe, you might notice two glaring omissions. One: I used 1% instead of whole milk.  I don’t really like the taste of whole milk, and generally think recipes come out fine with the lighter stuff.  This one sure did.  Two: I did not top with glaze.  Too much sugar for my taste. But if you’re in the mood for a super sweet treat, go for it!

 

Leave a Reply

