Fourth of July, Four Outings: A Family Affair

This has been quite the weekend.  With my twin brother home from school, I haven’t had time to write.  Or look at blogs.  Or check Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or Pinterest.  Which has been an entirely good thing.

Sometimes I forget how much these things take on the feeling of obligations.  I get worried about not blogging; I worry about reading the plays that I “need” to finish by the end of the summer.  But a long weekend reminds you of what matters.  And what mattered to me was spending quality time with my brother, making people stare while we ran down the beach playing Frisbee very badly.  Making an apple pie, chocolate chip cookies, roasted corn salsa, and a beautiful blueberry lemon breakfast bread reminded me that cooking for people you love is the most special kind of all.  Sitting for a few hours at Barnes and Noble, being distracted by my brother’s avid discussions about educational reform and quoting The Emperor’s New Groove, gave me more satisfaction than any play I’ve read recently (theatre sacrilege, but still).

Camping in the backyard…sibling bonding at it’s finest. Note brother attempting to build a fire…

The always needed fire picture…love a good flame.

Apple pie baking commences. I only stole a few of these out of the bowl.

Few sights are as beautiful as a bowl of mixed pie dough. Good things come to those who wait.

Like this absolutely gorgeous apple pie.  I’ll post the recipe soon!

 And finally, a day spent on the shore of Lake Michigan.  Gorgeous view, beautiful day, and lots of fun playing Frisbee and football.

I hope you all had a blessed and comfortable weekend full of relaxation, fun, and family.

Leave a Reply

