My Life in Pictures…the little things

Ah, Mondays.  I felt like I was moving particularly slowly today–it can be hard to get into the flow of a 40 hour work week, especially since the job I’m doing involves lots of sitting and working on spread sheets.  Definitely not behavior that contributes to staying bright eyed and bushy tailed.  But I am working really hard on finding the beauty in the littlest things, and enjoying a slow-ish summer before being chucked back into the whirl wind that is school.  I found this amazing quote today, and it will be staying on my wall for awhile:

“The present moment is filled with joy and happiness.  If you are attentive, you will see it.” -Thich Naht Hanh, Peace is Every Step

Beautiful, and a great thing to remember.  In honor of this, I’m posting a few “beauty in the little things” moments from the past week or so.  Hope you enjoy as much as I did!

This quote was on the board at yoga, and it warmed my heart.  Great to remember when you’re in a long distance relationship.

This was one of my favorite outfits I’ve ever worn to work. Sometimes it’s just nice to look cute. Especially after a semester spent in athletic clothes.

This is a flourless chocolate torte. And it is all that is good and beautiful and right in the world.  Completely non-healthy recipe will be coming to you soon.

A box of playbills from every show I saw between the years 2004 and 2011. So THAT’S where all my money/time/passion went.  Kind of a lovely thing when I think about it.

I will devote myself to being as happy with my life as this hedgehog is with his carrot.  I don’t even want to admit the number of people I sent this to.

Homemade margherita pizza that was absolutely to die for. Don’t even need a recipe for it: thin crust premade pizza dough, pizza sauce (lots), reduced fat mozzarella (not as much), and some very freshly chopped basil baked at 450 for ten minutes. See it. Smell it. Eat it. Love it.

Laying out on the lawn, slathered in sun screen and feeling like a summer goddess.  Sometimes, you have to take a day to just lay out in a swimsuit and relax. Or, in my constant BFA-ness, read some Ibsen. Nothing says summer like inner turmoil and class conflict.

Hope your summer is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

