Wearing Tennis Shoes at Work

Odd title for a post? Probably.  But I’ve been thinking about this a lot for the past two days, as I was told by the doctor to wear only tennis shoes for the next two weeks, to provide extra support to my foot.  I never wear tennis shoes. Ever. I’m always in wedge sandals, flip flops, boots, ballet flats…but I cannot remember the last time I actually wore tennis shoes out somewhere to go with an outfit. 

That’s not to say I don’t love my running shoes. I ADORE them.  They are hot pink and gorgeous and pretty and, more importantly, have supported my newly athletic feet for a year and a half.  I’m probably getting nostalgic, because I’m going to buy new ones next week.  It’s just time. Sorry babies, it’s not you, it’s me.  And my probably-not-stress-fractured foot.

Sigh.

Anyway, back to wearing them at work.  Despite the love I have for these very cool shoes…no, I do not like wearing them to work. Or out in public.  At all. It’s kind of like the aversion I feel to wearing sweat pants in public.  Do I like how comfy they are?  Of course.  Do I really care what other people think? No! Or do I? I was wondering that today, as I changed my outfit plan for the third time to something that wouldn’t look bizarre with my shoes (skirts, most shorts, and skinny jeans are out for the next two weeks, apparently).  I was struggling and getting frustrated and then I realized, Why should I care?

I’m not going to care. 

I love getting dressed up and looking nice.  I think it’s important to look your best and put your best foot forward.  But do I care if some guy I’m never going to see again after this summer thinks it looks weird that I’m wearing Tiffany blue shorts with pink Nikes?  Nope.  Not gonna let it bug me.  There are so many other things to worry about in this world, I’m not going to waste another minute thinking about these shoes.  And hopefully, they are steering my foot towards a full recovery so I can get back to running soon! That’s better than any outfit compliment I could ever get.

 

Leave a Reply

