Five Things: Memorial Day

It’s crazy how excited I was for the weekend after my first week of working full time.  It takes a lot out of you, especially when you throw on an hour of intense work out each day.  So needless to say, I was ready for a bit of time to relax and chill out.  Here’s what I’m excited about this weekend.

1) My three mile run.  This one is a bit of a cheat, because it already happened…but the run was awesome!  There is really nothing as inspiring as pushing your body to new limits and succeeding. I used to not be able to even walk three miles, and today I challenged myself to the longest run of my week.  I completed 3.2 miles in 33 minutes, and much of the trail was made up of pretty steep inclines.  I felt so empowered! And relaxed.  So much incentive to get out of the door.

2) Lemon Eton mess. 

I found this recipe in my mom’s Southern Living and have wanted to make it since last week! So I’ll be whipping up a batch for our Memorial Day dessert.  It’s light, refreshing, and (best part!) easy! Basically, you make lemon curd, and then make a parfait with the curd, crumbled lemon shortbread cookies (also on my baking list), homemade whipped cream, and fresh berries.  It’s going to be amazing.

3) The American Heiress

This. Book. I am obsessed.   I bought it at a friend’s recommendation, and it has been fulfilling my Great Gatsby/Downton Abbey obsession.  I would love to finish it this weekend! There’s nothing better than curling up with a good book and a cup of coffee for a few hours.  A pleasure I haven’t had in a long, long time.

4) Girl’s night with Katie.  This also already happened (so much cheating in this Five Things!), but I had been excited about it all week.  Sometimes it’s nice to relive those typical high school weekend sleepovers: frozen yogurt, Redvines, a good movie, and girl talk for hours.  Katie and I have been friends for 9 years, so we have a very precise formula.  It was so fun to catch up.

5) Three day weekend! I’m excited to relax, help out around the house, and have an extra day to relax.  Hopefully. The funny thing about being home is that chores seem to pop out of nowhere.  Memorial Day is a little bittersweet this year.  I’m excited for the day off, of course, but the true meaning of the day is really hitting home for the first time, with the two most important boys in my life serving in the military.  Please take a moment out of your day on Monday to remember the sacrifices that continue to keep our country safe, and pray for soldiers past and present, those lost and those still serving–and their families.

 

I hope you all have a beautiful start to the weekend!

 

 

Leave a Reply

