Hot Yoga, Baby!

I took my first hot yoga class tonight.  I was a little bit nervous.  I haven’t done a real yoga class in a year and a half.  Though we work in a lot of yoga moves into my acting classes, I didn’t quite know how my strength would hold up in an hour long class.  Also, it’s HOT! And they mean hot.  I started with Yoga Flow, because I like the relaxing flow of the moves and the music.  I noticed before I started the room was heated to a balmy 95 degrees. Woah.

Let me just say, if you don’t like to sweat, then hot yoga is most definitely NOT for you.  This may seem obvious, but I work out a lot, and I don’t think I’ve ever sweated more.  A little gross, but it’s hard to focus on that when you’re trying to ground one foot in the floor and balance while your other leg and opposite arm are in the air. 

So, my thoughts?  I am a little obsessed.  The class was a challenge, for sure.  I alternated between attentive focus in a relaxed state…and the typical Lauren state of, “How the hell is she wrapping her foot into her pelvis like that?? I want to do it!!” After I was done, my shoulders felt about three inches lower than they usually sit, and my lower back was loose after a day of sitting at the office.  I felt relaxed, anxiety free, and very much in control of my body.  That alone is enough to make me give the $40 unlimited month long membership ago! Look forward to more yoga updates as I try to calmly proceed without worrying about wrapping my foot behind my head.

Leave a Reply

