A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes

ImageJust got back from the most amazing Disney weekend.  I can’t believe I’ve been at two Disney parks in the past three months, on opposite sides of the country! World traveler over here.  My stepdad, mom and I flew out on Wednesday, and met my twin brother, who attends a military academy, in Orlando.  My brother has an insane summer–he’s scheduled down to the last  minute.  These five days were golden to him, and I’m so happy we got to spend them in such an exciting way!

The trip was wonderful in all aspects.  We rode awesome rides, stayed in a gorgeous hotel (Wilderness Lodge.  If you are making the trip, I highly recommend it!).  We also relaxed a little more, and took life at a slower pace than we usually do at Disney.  Confession time: I’m a bit of a master planner/drill sergeant when it comes to Disney parks.  I make our traveling plans because I can usually figure out how to have the shortest wait times, do the most stuff, and eat at wonderful restaurants.  So at first I was a bit anxious when we deviated from the plan.  But it was actually really, really nice to wander about and take breaks and eat Dole whip.  Lesson learned.

 

 

ImageBrother and I playing the drums.  I think I stole all the musical abilities.

Hanging out with my brother is one of my favorite things in life (along with fro yo, long walks, amazing books, and coffee). He is the yin to my yang.  He is also the only person that I ever get incredibly frustrated with–which is kind of beautiful, when you think about it.  We are best friends, and it’s like we’ve never been apart every time we reunite.  Love it.

Being at Disney this trip really solidified a desire I’ve had since…well, since I first watched a Disney princess sing on screen (’90s kid problems).  I would LOVE to work at Disney as a performer, in almost any capacity!  They all show much warmth and compassion, especially those who work with kids, in a job that isn’t always gratifying–there are a lot of exhausted children and screaming parents (and vice versa) at those parks.  I have so much respect and admiration for them, whether they be character performers, parade dancers, or in a show.

And speaking of shows…

I need to play Nemo in Finding Nemo: The Musical.  Who would have thought an amusement park show would have contained some of the best performances I’ve seen on a musical stage?  And those performers have to do about six shows a day.  Absolute insanity.  But an insanity that I would love to take on.  Ah, the oddities of the BFA world.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

