Sweets for the Sweet

My mom is so excited that I’m home for the summer…which makes me more excited being home.  I cleared my whole weekend so we could have some special mother daughter time that we’ve been missing, especially since she wasn’t able to come see any of my shows this year.

We spent Saturday and Sunday shopping for a new wardrobe for her, and went to see The Great Gatsby (which I’ll have to post about later…safe to say I was OBSESSED.  Mom was a little more controlled with her praise, but was such a good sport to see it with me.  Movie watching at Sundance Theatre has become a kind of tradition for us; I can’t wait to go see more!).

And then…dinner.  We had decided to make salmon, a Caesar salad, and Ree Drummond’s hot crashed potatoes.  And for dessert, I attempted Moelleux au Chocolat “Kitu”, or individual molten chocolate cakes, from Elizabeth Bard’s book Lunch in Paris.  I’ve been wanting to try the recipe for months, and since I finally had a kitchen and a special occasion, I decided to go for it!

It might have been a little ambitious for my first cooking gig in six months.  I kept having to run back to Mom an ask when, exactly, potatoes could be considered “fork tender,” and was the potato masher supposed to crumble them everywhere, and was it powdered or granulated sugar in whipped cream?  But it somehow all came together.

The chocolate cakes are literally the easiest little soufflé you could ever make.  Dark chocolate, four eggs, some sugar, and a tablespoon of flour to make them rise, and you’re in business! A note: I used Reynolds wrap cupcake liners for the molds for the cakes.  I stacked about five of them, poured in the batter, and then set the little molds on a cookie sheet to bake.  It worked perfectly, and was super easy to unmold.  They came out beautifully! I added homemade whipped cream (simple pleasures) and some raspberries, which cut the richness of the cakes very nicely. I apologize that I don’t have any finished pictures of the cakes; we were too excited to eat them and I completely forgot! Mom was in heaven.  We topped off the night watching the season finale of Survivor–well, they watched it, and I read Sense and Sensibility.  Some things never change.

Hope you all had a lovely Mother’s Day!  I know that I am the luckiest daughter in the world.

MOELLEUX AU CHOCOLAT

  • 8 tbsps (1 stick) unsalted butter (I used salt, but eliminated the sea salt later.  Turned out great! Use whatever you have)
  • 5 oz dark chocolate (I used Lindt 70% and it was perfect)
  • A pinch of sea salt (I omitted the salt)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tbs flour

Preheat oven to 450. Melt butter and chocolate together on stove, add sea salt.

Meanwhile, beat together eggs, egg yolks, and sugar w/ whisk or an electric beater until light and slightly foamy. Add egg mixture to the warm chocolate; whisk quickly to combine. Add flour and stir JUST TO COMBINE. The batter will be quite thick. 

Use Reynolds foil cupcake liners (5 or 6 stacked together to make a mold) and divide batter evenly amongst molds. Bake 7 minutes for thin outter shell, 8 minutes for thicker curst and gooey center. I baked them for 8 minutes and thought it was perfect–the molten chocolate oozes out beautifully when you crack open the top.

*Can freeze batter in molds and take out of freezer 10 minutes in advance. Bake at 410 F for aprox. 15 to 17 minutes.

Leave a Reply

