Five Things…A Theatre Filled Weekend

This weekend is chock full of theatre goodness. And a little baking.  So you know it’s going to be a good one.  Here are five things I’m excited about.

1) Fairytale Ball

Image

This is an awesome tradition that the Children’s Theatre affiliated with the school puts on each year.  It’s a huge benefit gala for parents and children, so the parents can come and bid on auction items, eat, drink, and generally make merry, while the children play with their favorite characters.  Who are, you guessed it, your friendly neighborhood theatre majors, volunteering.  

I actually got to sign up this year because my five hour rehearsal will be over just in time for me to change and go to the ball.  Ah, life.  But I will be performing as Merida, from the Disney film Brave, which is basically a dream come true.  If I could play her at Disney, I would die happy.  Now I’m just brushing up on a quick overnight Scottish accent, and I should be good to go.  Another plus? The dress is really cute. And I get to rock my curly hair like no one’s business.

2) Cookies and Candies and Treats…

Oh, my! I’m hosting a meeting at our sorority house, and since it’s my last one of the year, I decided to go all out with treats.  Which means the seniors will be getting chocolate dipped strawberries, and the underclassmen will be getting some kind of cookie that I haven’t yet determined.  But this gives me an excuse to bake, which is my happy time in a nutshell. I can’t wait to destress, and get a little sugar high!

Image

3) Me Time

I have been contained in a room with 19 other girls, every night from 6:30-10:30.  I have come home and done homework before falling into bed an exhausted mess.  So tonight, I am going to get home from rehearsal, and I am going to soak in a bubble bath.  I am going to paint my nails.  I might, and I know I’m dreaming big here, but I might even watch a TV show.  Basically, I’m just excited to chill for a little bit and actually get some sleep.   Nirvana in a nutshell.

4) SUSHI!

I tried to resist the temptation, but now that I like sushi, I crave it all. The. Time.  Oh, how things change.  When Mollie suggested we get some before rehearsal, my mind said no but my mouth said yes.  Now I can’t wait.  Volcano roll, here I come!

5) Monologue Work

We are all in crunch time for Sophomore Juries, which are the capstone of your halfway zone in my BFA program.  I’ll be spending some quality time with my monologues this weekend, curled up with a cup of coffee and a pen, figuring out my life and my choices.  I’m more excited than scared at this point, because I’m proud of the work I’ve been doing–so what have I got to lose?

 

It’s going to be another busy but exciting weekend, and I can’t wait to start it out!

One thought on “Five Things…A Theatre Filled Weekend

Leave a Reply

