The Elements of Filming an Audition

This is the face of a happy and relieved blogger. Also: the shirt and the earrings are new. Sorry, I had to.

Well.  This has been an experience.  It turns out that filming an audition is much, much harder than just going in and doing one. I was of the mindset that this would be great: take as many shots as you need, redo a few times, do a little editing, and blam! Instant glory.

Not so, my friends. Not so.

First of all, the camera: I borrowed a fancy high tech option from our music library. Picture me in heels and a dress, a sweet coat on my shivering frame, as I trudge across campus, carrying a thirty pound, unweildy silved case on my arm. It was not pretty.  A curse word or two might have been uttered. I had planned to attach the camera directly to my teacher’s laptop and record onto there. But this was, apparently, the one laptop Apple makes that didn’t have a connector.  Scratch that plan.  We then decided to record onto a cassette, and transfer that onto a laptop movie program. No worries.

Now, the recording: I am a perferctionist, I should tell you that right away.  A perfectionist who does not like seeing or hearing herself on video. I mean…it’s death. I could sing like Renee Fleming, and I’d still want to fix or redo something. So this was a little bit miserable for me.  My allergies were acting up at the beginning, and I felt like there was something wrong with every single take I did.  By the end of singing, I was tired, I was frustrated, and I just needed to go home and not think about it. And that’s how I wound up watching three episodes of New Girl and eating half a carton of Hagen Daaz coffee ice cream on Wednesday night.  Je ne regrette rien.

On to the transferring: This really freaks me out. I am not technology-smart, at all, which I’ve mentioned. It usually just takes me two hours of mucking about till I stumble on the correct thing. So the whole process of transferring the video from camera to computer, editing on the computer, and then getting that onto a flashdrive scared the crap out of me. Visions of deleting my entire edition flashed before my eyes every time I clicked a button.  I worked on it for an hour, clicking, undoing, clicking, undoing, until it finally loaded on my drive.  And when I clicked open, it said…”CANNOT BE LOADED WITH QUICKTIME.”

Kill. Me. Now. And then I ran to class, scribbled a note to the computer dude begging for his help, and decided it was out of my hands.

Finally, the uploading: I went in this morning, and the computed dude had miraculously solved my problem, and told me it would work (thank God for the technology savvy in this world.  Computer dude, you’re my savior.) I began to edit on my laptop. This was also a gruelling process, and I had to do a lot of try and fail before I finally got two cuts I liked.

And now, the worst part: which one do I pick? I agonized over this. It might seem funny to some, that performers can micromanage this stuff down to the nearest head tilt or hand gesture…but I wanted it to be perfect.

Newsflash to Lauren: No one is perfect. When I finished my editing and uploading to youtube, I had a nice little cut that I think shows off my voice to its full advantage.  Now I can just send it on its way and hope for wonderful things.

In the meantime, I’m going to chill, congratulate myself on getting through all of this, and drink coffee. (Note: I don’t want to post the video on here until after auditions, just to make sure there are no issues with the theatre company.  Thanks for being patient with me!)

Leave a Reply

