Five Things…A Theatre Filled Weekend

This weekend is going to be absolutely insane.  In the best way possible.  Here are a few things I’m excited about!

1) 10 of 12!

ImageFor the uninitiated, a “ten of twelve” is a rehearsal that is the maximum number of equity hours performers can work–we rehearse ten hours out of a twelve hour day, with a two hour dinner break (we aren’t equity, obviously, but our school follows their rehearsal guidelines).  So tomorrow I will be spending 10 awesome hours with the Christmas Carol cast, trying to do homework, but more likely fooling around.  And using my dinner break to eat atrociously (my money right now is on either Taco Bell or Panda Express).  The photo above is from last year…I’m looking forward to another amazing run! (ps..can you spot me?  I’m in the middle looking ridiculous in a muffin cap).

2) Julius Caesar…aka a Shakespeare Callback!

All the callbacks from this round of auditions have been posted, and I had the great good fortune to be called back for three amazing shows!  Yay!  I’m super excited for my callback on Sunday evening for an all female version of Julius Caesar.  I have no idea how the director is going to play that, but I’m sure it’s going to be epic! Also, I just absolutely love Shakespeare callbacks with all my heart.  Nothing better than being able to perform that beautiful poetry with other people!

3) Christmas Music

Image

I know, I know, it’s only November 16th, I’m skipping Thanksgiving, blah blah blah.  I start listening to Christmas music basically after Halloween.  I absolutely love it! There’s a different style for every mood, and it just cheers me up so much.  Also it’s the perfect homework background music.  My current obsession is Noel by Josh Groban, and the song Joseph’s Lullaby from MercyMe’s Christmas album.  If you haven’t heard it, go find it right now! Incredible!

4) Scene Work!

Some people wonder how I could go to rehearsal at 11:30 on a Sunday night.  I say, how could you not want to?  I am in a good friend’s directing scene, and all of our rehearsals are going to be late at night.  In high school, I might have made excuses about sleep or homework.  Now I realize: what am I here for, if not to play and do good scene work with some amazing people?  I’m super excited!

5) Dreaming about Thanksgiving…

On Wednesday morning, I will be boarding a plane at 5:30 and beginning the longish trip back to my hometown up north.  Thank. God.  I can’t even begin to describe the relief that washes over me when I think about going home for a little while.  I think as much as we love being at school, we all need some rejuvenation every once in awhile.  I can’t wait to help my mom cook our amazing Thanksgiving feast, to see my awesome twin brother, to hang out with friends, to feel cold weather again, to cuddle with my dogs…and just to not worry for five days! I’m also super lucky, because I get to come back and jump right back into a wonderful show.  So much to be thankful for.

Also, I get to eat my weight in amazing food. Nothing better than that.  Did I mention all fitness goals go out the window on holidays?

Leave a Reply

