Stop Thinking, Start Doing

Image

 

I think every once in awhile we need to remember why we are doing this career.  I have been so caught up this past week with being good enough, getting into a show, getting a callback, being on everyone else’s level…and how much has that actually helped me?  Not a lot.  In fact, it might have done me some harm, because that way, literally, lies madness.  But it’s also one of the impossibilities of being a performer.  I don’t know if there will ever truly be a moment that I can be 100% chill in an audition and okay with not getting the part.  Because I really, really want it.  But there gets to be a point where that is disruptive to your audition, and you shoot yourself in the foot.

Eek.

So how do you deal with this?  There are a few tactics I’ve learned.

1) You are you.  And that is your best asset.  No one else can really play a part better than you; they can just play it differently.  So don’t waste your time worrying about what everyone else is doing.  This is especially helpful with monologue auditions, because someone will always be doing your monologue.  You have to realize what you have to offer and keep on keeping on.

2) Don’t think about the people in the audition room.  Come in, introduce yourself, and then do your monologue for you.  Because you have something you have to say.  Because there is someone you have to move.  The person you’re talking to isn’t at the audition table, so don’t worry about them.

3) Don’t think, just do.  I really have to work on this one in all aspects of my life.  There comes a point where you have done all you can do.  The work is solid, the intent is there, and you need to just go for it.  

4) Once you’re done, you’re done.  Seriously.  I am a horrible worrier and analyzer.  After I audition, I want to go back over every detail, and I can waffle in the same thought between “I was amazing!” and “I suck, I’m never getting back onstage!” But the only thing this worrying does is make me freak out and cost me sleep.  Once I’ve finished, it’s time to start looking forward to the next audition.  Or, please please please, callbacks.

 

Just some good things to remember in the wake of a stressful audition season.  Don’t let anyone dull your sparkle!

Leave a Reply

