Noooooo!!

Haven’t written for a while because of an unfortunate incident that took place on Saturday.  My laptop has been popping up with an error message, warning me that I must turn it off immediately, as there is a problem with the heating and cooling system.  I, in my naive, bumbling way, chose to ignore the signs–to my doom.  For last week, the laptop began shutting down completely at the most inopportune moments, with a gentle whizzing noise and a sort of ominous trill.  Alarmed, I took it to Best Buy, where I wistfully hoped for a simple prognosis, perhaps a couple hours in the computer hospital, and then a safe trip back home to aid me in my procrastination filled weekend.  Ah, ’twas not to be.

The Best Buy Geek Squad dude listened to my issue, looked down at the laptop darkly, and began filling out his paperwork.  He informed me that it would have to be sent in to Headquarters.  I blanched at this very serious sounding prognostication, and asked how long that would take.  He calmly thought for a moment, and then tossed back over his shoulder, as he took my laptop away, “Eh, about two weeks.”

Damn. It.

So now I am laptopless till October 31 (possibly.  He said they have a way of coming in sooner.  At this point, I’m not going to put too much hope into that).  Only those who have been without a computer in college know the true depression of my situation.  This means I will be making long trips to the library, with all the other loud, obnoxious laptop-free students.  I will have to use a library printer.  I won’t be lulled into my procrastination filled homework hours by the cheerful drone of The Food Network on my TV.  Gah. So not down.

Hey.  It could be worse.  I could have to buy a whole new laptop!

Gonne go knock on wood now.

Leave a Reply

