Christmas in October

So I did end up getting cast in Christmas Carol! Which I am actually very excited about.  The only bad thing about getting cast in a mainstage show (the shows with the highest budgets, longest rehearsal periods, etc.) is that you are out of the running for pretty much every smaller show in the season.  At first I was a little sad…and then I realized, how lucky am I to be cast at all?  It can be easy to forget how insanely competitive the world of theatre is.  I don’t mean competitive in a show girls, “I’m gonna push that bitch down the stairs” kind of way.  I mean in a “holy cow there are a hundred girls at this school who could get cast in this part instead of me” kind of way.  Being cast in anything is such a joy, and that’s something I really want to inspire this year’s freshman with.  Even getting a callback is a huge accomplishment! It’s so important to remember how blessed we are to be here.  Theatre is not easy. Sometimes it really sucks.  So I am going to enjoy every little moment I can.

       Another major plus?  This means I get to start celebrating Christmas on October 8th. And I just happen to be an absolute Christmas fanatic. So it rocks.  Last year I brought about two hundred Christmas cookies to a matinee for the whole cast…that might be a repeat adventure this year.

Leave a Reply

